Skip to main content

2024 Des Moines Challenge and Finnish Nationals: Top Storylines + How to Watch

By Michelle Springett
0 Comments

In the Know: Your Guide to Watching the 2024 Swedish Open with Top Storylines & Stats

This weekend, both The Trubank Des Moines Challenge presented by DGA, and the 2024 Finnish National Disc Golf Championships are happening! 

DMC: With three Elite Series wins this season, Defending champion Gannon Buhr will be a key player to watch. Anthony Barela, back in form with a top 10 at the Preserve, ties Buhr for the most MPO Major/Elite Series wins in 2024. Missy Gannon, the 2021 DMC champion, is riding high with her third Major/Elite Series win. Juliana Korver is also hitting the course in Iowa and has previously won the Des Moines Challenge 5 years in a row, from 1996-2000.

Watch the Finnish Nationals on DGN Pro

The Disc Golf Network is thrilled to announce live coverage of the 2024 Finnish National Disc Golf Championships from Sibbe Disc Golf Course, July 4-7. This event will run concurrently with the Des Moines Challenge, marking the only dual coverage weekend of the season. 

Watch three-time MPO champion Niklas Antilla and top FPO contenders Eveliina Salonen, Henna Blomroos, and Silva Saarinen. This event coverage is available exclusively on DGN Pro, so upgrade for just $7.00/month to catch this premier showcase of Finnish disc golf talent and watch the European Open only on DGN Pro just two weeks later.

Don’t miss out—subscribe now at discgolfnetwork.com!

Swedish Open Recap (last week)

James Proctor triumphed at the 2024 Swedish Open, securing his first DGPT event win with a 3-stroke lead, leading the field in birdie percentage and Circle 2 putting. Silva Saarinen celebrated her 5th consecutive victory, dominating key stats like birdie and scramble percentages. Meanwhile, Calvin Heimburg extended his impressive cash streak to 47 consecutive events despite a T44th finish. Proctor’s victory, Saarinen’s winning streak, and Heimburg’s remarkable consistency highlighted the excitement at the Swedish Open, promising thrilling seasons ahead for disc golf fans. Continue reading about the Top 3 Moments of the Swedish Open!

Top Storylines Headed into the Des Moines Challenge

FPO LOOKAHEAD


FPO1 Feature Card: Missy Gannon, Eliezra Midlying, Juliana Korver, Ohn Scoggins
FPO2 Feature Card: Holyn Handley, Hailey King, Kat Mertsch, Val Mandujano

Missy Gannon, the 2021 DMC champion, is riding high with her third Major/Elite Series win of the season at The Preserve Championship. Ohn Scoggins makes her Iowa debut, bringing a streak of 15 straight top-10 finishes in Major/Elite Series events. Holyn Handley continues her podium streak, boasting the most M/ES podiums this season in FPO. Don’t miss Iowa legends Juliana Korver and Des Reading, who together hold 10 wins at this event. Tune in to see if they can make history again at Pickard Park Silver!

MPO LOOKAHEAD


MPO1 Feature Card: Gannon Buhr, Cole Redalen, Simon Lizotte, Anthony Barela
MPO2 Feature Card: Isaac Robinson, Gavin Babcock, Andrew Marwede, Ezra Aderhold

Defending champion Gannon Buhr, with three Elite Series wins this season, will be a key player to watch. Anthony Barela, back in form with a top 10 at the Preserve, ties Buhr for the most MPO Major/Elite Series wins in 2024. Calvin Heimburg returns after a break, aiming to continue his streak of five straight top-10 finishes. Keep an eye on the Robinson brothers, who both podiumed at last year’s event. The action unfolds at Pickard Park, with intense competition and thrilling moments guaranteed!

All the action starts on Friday, 7/05! Tune in to the Disc Golf Network and catch post-pro coverage from JomezPro all weekend. 

Spectator tickets are still available »

How To Watch:

Here’s everything you need to know to catch the action this weekend:

TEE TIMES & ROUND RATINGS
Trubank Des Moines Challenge presented by DGA | PDGA Event Page

Official scores, tee times, PDGA Live scoring, and round ratings can be found on the official event page.

Finish Nationals | PDGA Event Page

Official scores, tee times, PDGA Live scoring, and round ratings can be found on the official event page on PDGA.com.

DISC GOLF NETWORK BROADCAST TIMES
Live daily broadcasts from Friday 7/05 – Sunday 7/07

Des Moines Challenge: Normal Live Coverage

  • FPO | Multi-card coverage begins at 9:00 AM CT / 10:00 AM ET / 7:00 AM PT
  • MPO | Multi-card coverage begins at 2:30 PM CT / 3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT

Finnish Nationals: Only on DGN Pro

  • Friday/Saturday 
    • FPO | 9:10 AM EEST / 2:10 AM ET / 1:10 AM CT
    • MPO | 2:10 PM EEST / 7:10 AM ET / 6:10 CT
  • Sunday (after the cut)
    • FPO | 9:10 AM EEST / 2:10 AM ET / 1:10 AM CT
    • MPO | 2:40 PM EEST / 7:40 AM ET / 6:40 CT

LIVE SCORES AND STATS

Live scores and stats will also be available on both the DGPT website and on PDGA Live all weekend! 

2024 TRUBANK DES MOINES CHALLENGE PRESS CONFERENCE

Watch on the Disc Golf Network or on the DGPT YouTube Channel, which is happening live on Thursday, July 4th.

TIME NAME
1:00 PM CT Juliana Korver
1:10 PM ET Missy Gannon
1:20 PM ET Gregg Barsby
1:30 PM ET Simon Lizotte
1:40 PM ET Gannon Buhr
1:50 PM ET Eliezra Midtylng
2:00 PM ET Emily Weatherman
2:10 PM ET Gavin Babcock
2:20 PM ET Ty Tannatt (TD & DGPT Represenative)

LIVE COVERAGE

Disc Golf Network | Subscribe

The Disc Golf Network (DGN) is the home of live disc golf. The DGN is a subscription streaming and on-demand platform built by the Disc Golf Pro Tour. Covering the world’s best players competing in the sport’s most elite tournaments. For more information on Disc Golf Network offerings, check out this article → What are the subscription tiers offered by the Disc Golf Network?

Active PDGA members receive a discount on their monthly DGN subscription »

DGPT YouTube | Subscribe

In addition to the DGN, the live broadcast for both divisions will be simulcast free on the DGPT YouTube channel for the first round only on Thursday, April 25th.

POST-PRODUCTION COVERAGE

  • MDG Media | Subscribe

    MPO and FPO Expanded Leader Coverage | Next-Day Coverage of the Biggest European Tournaments

SOCIAL MEDIA

Disc Golf Pro Tour

Related Posts

2024 Krokhol Open: Top Storylines + How to Watch

In the Know: Your Guide to Watching the 2024 Krokhol Open presented by Latitude 64 with Top Storylines & Stats The 2024 Krokhol Open presented by Latitude 64 has arrived,...

Read More

James Proctor Shines in Sweden: Top 3 Moments of the 2024 Swedish Open!

1) Proctor’s Precision: A 13-Year Journey to Victory! James Proctor put on a show at the 2024 Swedish Open presented by Kastaplast, clinching his first DGPT event* win with a...

Read More

2024 Swedish Open: Top Storylines + How to Watch

In the Know: Your Guide to Watching the 2024 Swedish Open with Top Storylines & Stats The 2024 Swedish Open presented by Kastaplast, a DGPT Europe Elite Event, will be...

Read More